Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Wab Kinew, Tracey Lindberg, Emily Urquhart shortlisted for Kobo Emerging Writer Prize

Wab Kinew (photo: Pat O'Rourke)

Wab Kinew (photo: Pat O’Rourke)

Rakuten Kobo has released the shortlists for its second annual Emerging Writer Prize, awarding $10,000 and book-marketing support to three self- or traditionally published Canadian authors.

The shortlists were selected by a team of booksellers based on Kobo reader data, including customer ratings, reviews, and book-completion rates. The final judging process is in the hands of authors Gail Anderson-Dargatz (literary fiction), Camilla Gibb (non-fiction), and Lynsay Sands (genre fiction/romance). The winners will be announced June 21.

The shortlists are:

Literary fiction

  • Andrew Battershill, Pillow (Coach House Books)
  • Kevin Hardcastle, Debris (Biblioasis)
  • Irina Kovalyova, Specimen (House of Anansi Press)
  • Tracey Lindberg, Birdie (HarperCollins)
  • Sabrina Ramnanan, Nothing Like Love (Doubleday Canada)
  • Wendi Stewart, Meadowlark (NeWest Press)


Genre fiction – romance

  • Sally Christie, The Sisters of Versailles (Atria Books)
  • Megan Michelau, Operation Wildcat (self-published)
  • Melanie Stanford, Sway (Samhain Publishing)
  • Taryn Leigh Taylor, Kiss and Makeup (Harlequin Books)
  • Eleanor Webster, No Conventional Miss (Harlequin)
  • Nicola R. White, Fury’s Kiss (Strange Roads Press)


April 19th, 2016

1:04 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Kobo, Kobo Emerging Writer Prize