Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: RBC Bronwen Wallace shortlist announced

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced the finalists for the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers on May 11. The award recognizes writers under the age of 35 who have not been published in book form. The award alternates each year between poetry and short fiction. The winner of this year’s short-story prize, to be announced on June 8, will receive $5,000. Finalists will each receive $1,000 and the opportunity to be mentored by an editor.

The shortlist:

  • Brendan Bowles for “Wyatt Thurst”
  • Allegra McKenzie for “This Monstrous Heart”
  • Hannah Rahimi for “With My Scarf Tied Just So”