Quill and Quire


« Back to Omni

Winners of 2021–2022 Lane Anderson Award for Canadian science writing announced

The Fitzhenry Family Foundation has announced the winners of the 2021–2022 Lane Anderson Award.

Michael Henry is the adult prize winner for Ontario’s Old-Growth Forests, published by Fitzhenry & Whiteside, and Jennifer Gardy is the winner of the young reader prize for It Takes Guts: How Your Body Turns Food Into Fuel (and Poop), which is and illustrated by Belle Wuthrich and published by Greystone Kids.

Ontario’s Old-Growth Forests was commended for “its beauty and depth of information” while the young readers jury highlighted the “compelling writing style, level of detail, and educational value” of It Takes Guts.

The Lane Anderson Award honours the best science writing by a Canadian. Each winner receives $10,000.

It Takes Guts has garnered other awards as well, including the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences’ AAAS/Subaru Prize for excellence in science books.

The Lane Anderson Award, first awarded in 2010, is administered by the Fitzhenry Family Foundation. Winners are selected by independent juries composed of experts in the fields of science, science writing, and literature.

Submissions will open for the 2024 prize (for books published in 2023) later in February.

By: Q&Q Staff

February 14th, 2024

11:03 am

Category: Awards, Industry News

Tags: , ,