Quill and Quire


« Back to

Munro, Coupland get Writers’ Trust nods

The shortlists for the 2009 Writers’ Trust prizes were announced at Ben McNally Books in Toronto this morning. The nominees are:

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize ($25,000):

  • Nicole Brossard, Susanne de Lotbinière-Harwood, trans., Fences in Breathing (Coach House Books)
  • Douglas Coupland, Generation A (Random House Canada)
  • Annabel Lyon, The Golden Mean (Random House Canada)
  • Alice Munro, Too Much Happiness (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Andrew Steinmetz, Eva’s Threepenny Theatre (Gaspereau Press)

(Jurors: Marina Endicott, Miriam Toews, R.M. Vaughan)

The Writers’ Trust Non-fiction Prize ($25,000):

  • Brian Brett, Trauma Farm: A Rebel History of Rural Life (Greystone Books)
  • Wade Davis, The Wayfinders: Why Ancient Wisdom Matters in the Modern World (House of Anansi Press)
  • Trevor Herriot, Grass, Sky, Song: Promise and Peril in the World of Grassland Birds (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Erika Ritter, The Dog by the Cradle, the Serpent Beneath: Some Paradoxes of Human-Animal Relationships (Key Porter Books)
  • Eric Siblin, The Cello Suites: J.S. Bach, Pablo Casals, and the Search for a Baroque Masterpiece (House of Anansi Press)

(Jurors: Tim Bowling, Anne Hart, Bruce Meyer)

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize ($10,000):

  • Daniel Griffin, The Last Great Works of Alvin Cale (The Dalhousie Review)
  • Dave Margoshes, The Wisdom of Solomon (The Dalhousie Review)
  • Yasuko Thanh, Floating like the Dead (Vancouver Review)

(Jurors: Camilla Gibb, Lee Henderson, Rebecca Rosenblum)