Quill and Quire


« Back to

2011 ReLit shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2011 ReLit awards were announced today. The annual awards recognize books published by Canadian independent literary presses. Winners will be announced at the Ottawa International Writers’ Festival in October.

The nominees are as follows:


  • The Cube People, Christian McPherson (Nightwood Editions)
  • Book, Ken Sparling (Pedlar Press)
  • Blood Relatives, Craig Francis Power (Pedlar)
  • The Find, Kathy Page (McArthur & Company)
  • Krakow Melt, Daniel Allen Cox (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • The Goon, Jerrod Edson (Oberon Press)
  • The Bourgeois Empire, Evie Christie (ECW Press)
  • One Bloody Thing After Another, Joey Comeau (ECW)
  • Good Evening, Central Laundromat, Jason Heroux (Quattro Books)
  • Sweet England, Steve Weiner (New Star Books)

Short Fiction

  • The Devil You Know, Jenn Farrell (Anvil Press)
  • Ravenna Gets, Tony Burgess (Anvil)
  • I’m a Registered Nurse Not a Whore, Anne Perdue (Insomniac Press)
  • Bats or Swallows, Teri Vlassopoulos (Invisible Publishing)
  • There is No Other, Jonathan Papernick (Exile Press)
  • Punishing Ugly Children, Darryl Joel Berger (Killick Press)
  • I Still Don’t Even Know You, Michelle Berry (Turnstone Press)
  • Missed Her, Ivan E. Coyote (Arsenal Pulp)
  • Ronald Reagan, My Father, Brian Joseph Davis (ECW)


  • The Inquisition Yours, Jen Currin (Coach House Books)
  • Sweet, Dani Couture (Pedlar)
  • Every Day in the Morning (Slow), Adam Seelig (New Star)
  • A Good Time Had By All, Meaghan Strimas (Exile)
  • The Good News About Armageddon, Steve McOrmond (Brick Books)
  • You Know Who You Are, Ian Williams (Wolsak and Wynn)
  • Marimba Forever, Jim Christy (Guernica Editions)


August 26th, 2011

1:39 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Awards, ReLit Awards