Quill and Quire


« Back to

Scotiabank Giller Prize announces 2012 jury: Gary Shteyngart, Anna Porter, and Roddy Doyle

Jack Rabinovitch, founder of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, has announced the jury for 2012 is Gary Shteyngart, Anna Porter, and Roddy Doyle.

Shteyngart is an American writer whose most recent novel, Super Sad True Love Story, is a New York Times bestseller and winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse prize in the U.K.

Canada’s Porter is the former publisher and founder of Key Porter Books, and an award-winning author of fiction and non-fiction. Her book Kasztner’s Train won the Canadian Jewish Book Award and the Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize.

Irish novelist and screenwriter Doyle’s most recent books include Bullfighting and A Greyhound of a Girl. His novel Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha won the Booker Prize in 1993.

The Giller Prize longlist will be announced Sept. 4 and the shortlist will be unveiled Oct. 1. The winner will be announced Oct. 30 at a gala ceremony in Toronto. The award is worth $50,000.