Quill and Quire


« Back to

Alcuin Society names best Canadian book design for 2011

The Alcuin Society has announced the winners of the 30th annual Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada. The 35 winning titles will be presented in a cross-country travelling exhibition and will also be exhibited at the Frankfurt and Leipzig book fairs in Germany and at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo, in conjunction with the Tokyo International Book Fair.

Jury members Stan Bevington, Ingrid Paulson, and Bonne Zabolotney selected the winners from 252 entries submitted by 103 publishers. Awards will be presented this fall at events in Toronto and Vancouver.

This year’s winners are:

First prize:
Michael Solomon, A Few Blocks by Cybèle Young (Groundwood Books)
Second prize: Marie-Ève Boisvert, Billy Stuart by Alain M. Bergeron; Sampar, illus. (Éditions Michel Quintin)
Third prize: Teresa Bubela, Wellington’s Rainy Day by Carolyn Beck; Brooke Kerrigan, illus. (Orca Book Publishers)
Honourable mention: Michael Solomon, City Numbers by Joanne Schwartz; Matt Beam, photog. (Groundwood)

First prize (tie): Michael Torosian, Steichen: Eduard et Voulangis by Michael Torosian and Howard Greenberg (Lumiere Press); Nicolas Ménard, Colorimétrie by Nicolas Ménard (Nicolas Ménard); Elizabeth Beaudoin, Book of Poetry by Elizabeth Beaudoin (Elizabeth Beaudoin)
Honourable mentions: George Walker, The Mysterious Death of Tom Thomson (George A. Walker); Emanuel Cohen, PTTx Archive & Correspondance (Emanuel Cohen)

First prize:
Jessica Sullivan, Kesu’: The Art and Life of Doug Cranmer by Jennifer Kramer (Douglas & McIntyre)
Second prize: Peter Cocking, Fred Herzog: Photographs (D&M)
Third prize: Nicole Lafond, Richard-Max Tremblay. Portrait by André Lamarre (les éditions du passage)
Honourable mention: Jennifer Lum, Two Generals by Scott Chantler (McClelland & Stewart)

First prize:
Andrew Steeves, Curious Masonry by Christopher Patton (Gaspereau)
Second prize: Leah Springate, Folk by Jacob McArthur Mooney (M&S)
Third prize: Mark Goldstein, Killdeer by Phil Hall (BookThug)
Honourable mentions: Marvin Harder, Wild Horses by rob mclennan (University of Alberta Press); Andrew Steeves, Incitements by Sean Howard (Gaspereau)

First prize:
Peter Cocking, The Man Who Killed by Fraser Nixon (D&M)
Second prize: CS Richardson, Natural Order by Brian Francis (Doubleday Canada)
Third prize (tie): CS Richardson, Various Positions by Martha Schabas (Doubleday Canada); Leigh-Anne Mullock, Tubers by Mark Jowett; Matthias Lechner, illus. (Read Leaf)
Honourable mentions: Marike Paradis, À toi by Kim Thúy and Pascal Janovjak (Libre Expression); Peter Cocking, The Return by Dany Laferrière (D&M)

First prize:
Underline Studio, Blast Counterblast, Anthony Elms and Steve Reinke, ed. (Whitewalls)
Second prize: Jessica Sullivan, King by Allan Levine (D&M)
Third prize: Alan Brownoff, The Sasquatch at Home: Traditional Protocols & Modern Storytelling by Eden Robinson (UAP)
Honourable mention: Andrew Steeves, The Shell of the Tortoise by Don McKay (Gaspereau)

First prize:
Roberto Dosil, Selling Canada: Three Propaganda Campaigns that Shaped the Nation by Daniel Francis (Stanton Atkins & Dosil)
Second prize: Jessica Sullivan, Undesirables by Ali Kazimi (D&M)
Third prize: Naomi Macdougall, Prairie: A Natural History by Candace Savage (Greystone)
Honourable mention: Derek Barnett, Vancouver Anthology, Stan Douglas, ed. (Talonbooks)

First prize:
Diane Robertson, Hoopla: The Art of Unexpected Embroidery, Leanne Prain (Arsenal Pulp Press)
Second prize: Jeff Kulak, Learn to Speak series, Ann-Marie Williams and John Crossingham; ed. (Owlkids Books)
Third prize: Mike Mouland, Republic of Doyle: The Definitive Guide to Doyle: Seasons One & Two, by Kerri MacDonald (Flanker Press)

Click through the slideshow to see covers of the first-prize titles.


April 4th, 2012

2:08 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Alcuin Book Design Awards, Awards