Quill and Quire


« Back to

Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia reveals literary award shortlist

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia has announced the shortlists for its annual literary awards.

Starting this year, the WFNS will present its three prizes at a separate event from the Atlantic Book Awards. The ceremony will take place in Halifax on Oct. 12.

Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize ($20,000)

Atlantic Poetry Prize ($2,000)

  • Sue Goyette, outskirts (Brick Books)
  • Warren Heiti, Hydrologos (Pedlar Press)
  • Anne Simpson, Is (McClelland & Stewart)

Evelyn Richardson Memorial Non-Fiction Award ($2,000)

  • Chris Benjamin, Eco-Innovators: Sustainability in Atlantic Canada (Nimbus Publishing)
  • Ray MacLeod, Hope for Wildlife: True Stories of Animal Rescue (Nimbus)
  • Harry Thurston, The Atlantic Coast: A Natural History (Greystone Books)