Quill and Quire


« Back to

Peter Robinson, Ian Hamilton among winners of Arthur Ellis Awards


The winners of the Arthur Ellis Awards have been announced. The awards, presented by Crime Writers of Canada at a banquet in Toronto last week, recognize excellence in Canadian crime writing across six categories. And the winners are¦

Best Crime Novel
Before the Poison by Peter Robinson (McClelland & Stewart)

Best First Novel
The Water Rat of Wanchai by Ian Hamilton (House of Anansi Press)

Best Crime Book in French
La chorale du diable by Martin Michaud (Les Éditions Guélette)

Best Juvenile or Young Adult Crime Book
Blink & Caution by Tim Wynne-Jones (Candlewick/Random House)

Best Crime Non-fiction
Hot Art: Chasing Thieves and Detectives Through the Secret World of Stolen Art by Joshua Knelman (Douglas & McIntyre)

Best Crime Short Story

“What Kelly Did” by Catherine Astolfo (North Word Magazine)

Best Unpublished First Novel – Unhanged Arthur

Last of the Independents by Sam Wiebe