Quill and Quire


« Back to

Lynn Coady, U of Calgary Press among winners at 2012 Alberta Book Awards Gala

The winners of the 30th annual Alberta Literary Awards, the Alberta Book Publishing Awards, and the Alberta Readers’ Choice Award were revealed June 9 in Calgary at the 2012 Alberta Book Awards Gala.

Fred Stenson received the Writer’s Guild of Alberta’s Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement, and Wayne Arthurson scooped the Edmonton Public Library’s Alberta Readers’ Choice Award for Fall from Grace (Forge Books). The Alberta Literary Award recipients are:

  • R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature
    Cathy Ostlere, Karma (Puffin Canada)
  • Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
    Lynn Coady, The Antagonist (House of Anansi Press)
  • Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Non-fiction
    Alice Major, Intersecting Sets: A Poet Looks at Science (University of Alberta Press)
  • Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama
    Nicole Moeller, An Almost Perfect Thing
  • Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry
    Tim Bowling, Tenderman (Nightwood Editions)
  • Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award
    Alison Karlene Hodgins, A World Away
  • James H. Gray Award for Short Non-fiction
    Jannie Edwards, All Night Mirror: Notes Toward an Elegy
  • Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story
    Amy Bright, Look at it This Way (Character I Press)

Recipients of the Alberta Book Publishing Awards are:

  • Alberta Book Design Awards
    Book Cover/Jacket: Natalie Olsen, Kisscut Design for House of Spells by Robert Pepper-Smith (NeWest Press)
    Book Design: Marvin Harder for Three-Persons and the Chokitapix by Allen Ronaghan (CAHS Press)
  • Children’s & Young Adult Book Award
    Wayne Lynch, Canadian Rockies Wildlife for Kids (Summerthought Publishing)
  • Scholarly & Academic Book Award
    Sarah Carter and Patricia McCormack eds., Recollecting: Lives of Aboriginal Women of the Canadian Northwest and Badlands (Athabasca University Press)
  • Trade Fiction Book Award
    Kristen den Hartog, And Me Among Them (Freehand Books)
  • Trade Non-Fiction Book Award
    M. Ann Hall, The Grads Are Playing Tonight! (University of Alberta Press)
  • Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence
    Peter Midgley, The Man in Blue Pyjamas by Jalal Barzanji (University of Alberta Press)
  • Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award
    Susan McCaslin, Demeter Goes Skydiving (University of Alberta Press)
  • Publisher of the Year
    University of Calgary Press