Quill and Quire


« Back to

Canadian Authors Association announces winners of 2012 Literary Awards

The Canadian Authors Association has revealed the winners of its annual literary awards, presented during the Leacock Summer Festival in Orillia, Ontario, on July 28.

Founded in 1975, the CAA awards are presented to writers who maintain literary excellence along with popular appeal.

The winners are:

CAA Lela Common Award for Canadian History
Richard Gwyn, Nation Maker: Sir John A. MacDonald: His Life, Our Times, Volume Two: 1867“1891 (Random House Canada)

CAA Award for Fiction
Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers (House of Anansi Press)

CAA Poetry Award
Goran Simić, Sunrise in the Eyes of the Snowman (Biblioasis)

2012 Emerging Writer
Ryan Flavelle, The Patrol: Seven Days in the Life of a Canadian Soldier in Afghanistan (HarperCollins Canada)

The winners in the history, fiction, and poetry categories received a silver medal and $2,000 each. Flavelle was awarded a $500 cash prize.