Quill and Quire


« Back to

Poets, publishers among Order of Canada recipients

Scott Griffin

Members of the book world were not left out of the 91 new appointments to the Order of Canada, announced by Governor General David Johnston on Dec. 30.

Poetry was in the spotlight with House of Anansi Press owner Scott Griffin being singled out for advancing poetry through his Griffin Poetry Prize. Poet, biographer, and author Rosemary Sullivan was named for her contributions to Canadian literature, and publisher Gaston Bellemare for his promotion of poetry through the International Poetry Festival of Trois-Rivières.

Other recipients included Heather Reisman, founder and CEO of Indigo Books and Music; investigative journalist and author Stevie Cameron; NHL goalie, politician, and author Ken Dryden; author and travel writer Kildare Dobbs; and CBC Radio’s Michael Enright.