Quill and Quire


« Back to

Scotiabank Giller Prize jury announced

The jury for the 20th anniversary of the Scotiabank Giller Prize was revealed today. The three-member panel will include Canadian literary icon Margaret Atwood, 2011 Giller Prize winner Esi Edugyan, and American author Jonathan Lethem.

Following in last year’s footsteps, publishers will be required to provide digital copies of submitted titles alongside print copies.

The longlist for the 2013 prize will be announced Sept. 16, and the shortlist announcement will follow in October. The award will be presented at a gala dinner Nov. 5. Last year, Will Ferguson took home the award for his novel 419.

Atwood’s new book, Maddaddam (McClelland & Stewart) comes out this August but will not be eligible for the prize owing to her position on the jury.