Quill and Quire


« Back to

Alcuin Society announces best Canadian book designs for 2013

The Alcuin Society has announced the winners of this year’s Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada. Ties abound in the list of 41 winning titles, chosen from 236 entries submitted by 112 publishers.

The winning books will be presented at exhibitions across the country and at the Frankfurt and Leipzig Book Fairs, and at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo in conjunction with the Tokyo International Book Fair.

The awards will be handed out this fall at events in Toronto and Vancouver.

First prize (tie): Teresa Bubela, Doors in the Air by David Weale (Orca Book Publishers); Sara Gillingham, Everyone Eats by Julia Kuo (Simply Read Books)
Second prize (tie):
Jeff Kulak, Robot Feels Sleepy by Patryk Stasieczek and Jeff Kulak; Sara Gillingham, Lily Loves by Kai Lüftner (Simply Read)
Third prize:
Robin Mitchell Cranfield, When I Was Small by Sara O’Leary; Julie Morstad, illus. (Simply Read)
Honourable mention: Jessica Sullivan, Big City Bees by Maggie de Vries (Greystone Books); Teresa Bubela, Uncle Wally’s Old Brown Shoe by Wallace Edwards (Orca)

First prize:
Susan Colberg, The Waiting Room by Jonathan Locke Hart (University of Alberta Press)
Second prize:
Jason Dewinetz, First Principles of Typography by Stanley Morison (Greenboathouse Press)
Third prize: Margaret Lock, Deor’s Lament by Anonymous; Fred Lock, trans. (Locks’ Press)
Honourable mention: Larry Thompson, Natasha Herman, and Holly Dean, Lines Written a Few Miles Above Tintern Abbey … by William Wordsworth (Greyweathers Press)

First prize (tie):
Stefan Canuel, Garry Neill Kennedy: Printed Matter/Imprimés 1971“2009 by Peter Trepanier (National Gallery of Canada); Bradbury Branding & Design, Hansen-Ross Pottery by Heather Smith, Julia Krueger, and Alan C. Elder (Moose Jaw Museum and Art Gallery)
Second prize (tie):
Alan Brownoff, Canadian Folk Art to 1950 by John A. Fleming and Michael J. Rowan (UAP and Canadian Museum of Civilization); Mark Timmings, Group Search/Memory Palace, Lorna Brown and Karen Love, eds. (City of Vancouver, Doryphone Independent Curators, and Other Sights for Artists’ Projects Association)
Third prize: Underline Studio, Arnaud Maggs: Identification by Joseé Drouin-Brisebois (National Gallery of Canada)
Honourable mention: Tim Inkster, Out of the Wood by Rosemary Kilbourn (The Porcupine’s Quill); Jessica Sullivan, Selwyn Pullan: Photographing Mid-Century West Coast Modernism by Kiriko Watanabe et al. (Douglas & McIntyre and West Vancouver Museum)

First prize:
Andrew Steeves, Handfuls of Bone by Monica Kidd (Gaspereau Press)
Second prize: Andrew Steeves, Black by George Elliott Clarke (Gaspereau)
Third prize (tie): Zab Design & Typography, Post-Apothecary by Sandra Ridley (Pedlar Press); Carleton Wilson, Wedding in Fire Country by Darren Bifford (Nightwood Editions)
Honourable mention: Mark Goldstein, Form of Forms by Mark Goldstein (BookThug); Feed, Fragments de nuit by Jean-Pierre Gaudreau (les éditions du passage)

First prize:
Andrew Steeves, Love and the Mess We’re In by Stephen Marche (Gaspereau)
Second prize (tie): CS Richardson, The Blondes by Emily Schultz (Doubleday Canada); Brian Morgan, People Park by Pasha Malla (House of Anansi Press)
Third prize (tie):
Jessica Sullivan, A Matter of Life and Death or Something by Ben Stephenson (D&M); Lisa Jager, Y by Marjorie Celona (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
Honourable mention:
Ingrid Paulson and Alana Wilcox, Maidenhead by Tamara Faith Berger (Coach House Books); Kelly Hill and Terri Nimmo, The Emperor of Paris by CS Richardson (Doubleday Canada)

First prize (tie):
Chyla Cardinal, Little Black Lies: Corporate & Political Spin in the Global War for Oil by Jeff Gailus (Rocky Mountain Books); Peter Cocking and Heather Pringle, The Energy of Slaves: Oil and the New Servitude by Andrew Nikiforuk (Greystone)
Second prize (tie): Andrew Steeves, Lazy Bastardism: Essays & Reviews on Contemporary Poetry by Carmine Starnino (Gaspereau); Jessica Sullivan, The Tower of Babble: Sins, Secrets and Successes Inside the CBC by Richard Stursberg (D&M)

First prize:
Linda Gustafson and Peter Ross, Living the Canadian Dream: How Canadian Tire Became Canada’s Store by Daniel Stoffman (Canadian Tire)
Second prize:
Alan Brownoff, Game Plan: A Social History of Sport in Alberta by Karen L. Wall (UAP)
Honourable mention:
Brandon Bergem and Nicole Hunt, Warehouse Journal, vol. 21 by Brandon Bergem and Nicole Hunt (University of Manitoba Press)

First prize:
Studio multiple (formerly Atelier Louis-Charles Lasnier), The Musée d’art de Joliette: Guide to the Collection, Gaëtane Verna ed. (Musée d’art de Joliette)
Honourable mention:
Jessica Sullivan, Afternoon Tea by Muriel Moffatt (D&M); Peter Cocking, Rob Feenie’s Casual Classics by Rob Feenie (D&M)