Quill and Quire


« Back to

C.E. Gatchalian wins Dayne Ogilive Prize

Vancouver playwright C.E. Gatchalian has won this year’s Dayne Ogilive Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers.

Presented by The Writers’ Union of Canada, the $4,000 prize is given annually to an emerging gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender writer.

Gatchalian, who was nominated for a 2013 Lambda Literary Award for his play, Falling in Time, is currently the artistic producer at Vancouver’s Frank Theatre Company. Dayne Ogilive Prize jurors Amber Dawn, Anne Fleming, and Vivek Shraya praised Gatchalian for “reaching ever-growing audiences across Canada, not only broadening the creative dialogue on queer identity, but also championing intricate portraits of race, survivorship, and sexuality.”

Novelists Anand Mahadevan and Barry Webster received honours of distinction.