Quill and Quire


« Back to

Canadian Children’s Book Centre Awards finalists announced

The finalists have been announced for the 2013 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Awards. The honours will be handed out at two gala events on Oc. 22 in Toronto and Oct. 29 in Montreal.

This year sees the introduction of a new prize “ the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Fan Choice Awards “ which is being presented in partnership by TD and CBC Books. Young readers will vote for their favourite book in an online poll, with one lucky voter winning the opportunity to present the award at the Toronto gala.

Here are the shortlists:

TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($30,000)

Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse ($30,000)

  • À la recherche du bout du monde, Michel Noël (Éditions Hurtubise HMH)
  • La clé à molette, Élise Gravel (Éditions La courte échelle)
  • Jane, le renard & moi, Fanny Britt; Isabelle Arsenault, illus. (Éditions La Pastèque)
  • Mingan, mon village, poems by Inuit schoolchildren; Rogé, illus. (Éditions de la Bagnole)
  • Tu me prends en photo, Marie-Francine Hébert; Jean-Luc Trudel, illus. (Éditions Les 400 coups)

Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000)

  • Mr. King’s Things, Geneviève Côté (Kids Can)
  • Mr. Zinger’s Hat, Cary Fagan; DuÅ¡an Petričić (Tundra)
  • The Stamp Collector, Jennifer Lanthier; François Thisdale, illus. (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)
  • Uncle Wally’s Old Brown Shoe, Wallace Edwards (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Virginia Wolf, Kyo Maclear; Isabelle Arsenault, illus. (Kids Can)

Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction ($10,000)

  • Going Up! Elisha Otis’s Trip to the Top, Monica Kulling; David Parkins, illus. (Tundra)
  • Kate & Pippin: An Unlikely Love Story, Martin Springett; Isobel Springett, photog. (Puffin Canada)
  • Kids of Kabul: Living Bravely Through a Never-Ending War, Deborah Ellis (Groundwood)
  • Real Justice: Fourteen and Sentenced to Death “ The Story of Steven Truscott, Bill Swan (James Lorimer)
  • Rescuing the Children: The Story of Kindertransport, Deborah Hodge (Tundra)

Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000)

John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000)

  • Becoming Holmes, Shane Peacock (Tundra)
  • Breakaway, Michael Betcherman (Razorbill)
  • Devil’s Pass, Sigmund Brouwer (Orca)
  • The Lynching of Louie Sam, Elizabeth Stewart (Annick Press)
  • Neil Flambé and the Tokyo Treasure, Kevin Sylvester (Simon & Schuster)

Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy ($5,000)

  • The Girl with Borrowed Wings, Rinsai Rossetti (Dial Books)
  • Island of Doom: The Hunchback Assignments IV, Arthur Slade (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Rebel Heart, Moira Young (Doubleday Canada)
  • Seraphina, Rachel Hartman (Doubleday Canada)
  • Shadows Cast by Stars, Catherine Knutsson (Atheneum Books for Young Readers)