Quill and Quire


« Back to

Kobzar Award announces jury

The Board of Directors of the Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko has announced the jury for the 2014 Kobzar Literary Award, a $25,000 prize presented every other year in recognition of “a Canadian writer who best presents a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit.”

The jury comprises four authors:

  • Joe Kertes, author of the novel Gratitude
  • Frances Itani, author of the novels Requiem and Deafening
  • Annabel Lyon, author of the novels The Golden Mean and The Sweet Girl
  • Olive Senior, author of the novel Dancing Lessons

The Kobzar shortlist will be released in the coming weeks, with the winner announced on March 5, 2014. Each shortlisted author will receive $1,000.