Quill and Quire


« Back to

Fresh Fish Award shortlist announced

The shortlist for the Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers was announced in St. John’s on Oct. 8.

The award is open to fiction, non-fiction, and poetry manuscripts written by province residents who have not yet been published in book form. It awards a $5,000 prize plus $1,000 in professional editing services to the winner, and $1,000 to each runner-up.

The finalists are:

  • Joshua Goudie for his novel, The Art of Dogs 
  • Tracey Waddleton for her short-story collection, Send More Tourists, the Last Ones Were Delicious
  • Paul Whittle for his collection, Everything Is What Is

The biennial award, established in 2006, is presented in partnership with the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This year’s jury comprises author and editor Mike Heffernan (chair), writer Paul Rowe, and 2011 Fresh Fish winner Lesleyanne Ryan.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony hosted by Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, Honourable Frank F. Fagan and his wife, her Honour Patricia Fagan. The ceremony will take place on Nov. 6. Each shortlisted author presents their respective work at a reading the evening prior.