Quill and Quire


« Back to

Atlantic Book Awards reveals shortlists

The Atlantic Book Awards Society has announced the nominees for this year’s shortlists for its 10 literary prizes.

The winners will be revealed May 21 in Charlottetown during the week-long Atlantic Book Awards and Festival.

The shortlists are:

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature

  • Nix Minus One, Jill MacLean (Pajama Press)
  • The Power of Harmony, Jan L. Coates (Red Deer Press)
  • The Stowaways, Meghan Marentette (Pajama Press)

APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

  • Acorn Press, Ni’n na L’Nu:  The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island, Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston
  • Formac Publishing, Bluenose Adventure, Jacqueline Halsey; Eric Orchard, illus.
  • Goose Lane Editions, Masterworks from the Beaverbrook Art Gallery, Terry Graff, ed.

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction

  • Black Loyalists: Southern Settlers of Nova Scotia’s First Free Black Communities, Ruth Holmes Whitehead (Nimbus)
  • Merry Hell: The Story of the 25th Battalion (Nova Scotia Regiment), Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914“1919, Captain Robert N. Clements; Brian Douglas Tennyson, ed. (University of Toronto Press)
  • Scapegoat: The Extraordinary Legal Proceedings Following the 1917 Halifax Explosion, Joel Zemel (SVP Productions)

Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing

Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award

  • Blood on a Saint, Anne Emery (ECW Press)
  • Fallsy Downsies, Stephanie Domet (Invisible Publishing)
  • Waldenstein, Rosalie Osmond (Seraphim Editions)

Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award

Prince Edward Island Book Award (fiction)

  • Dirty Bird, Keir Lowther (Tightrope Books)
  • Ghost Boy of MacKenzie House, Patti Larsen (Acorn Press)
  • Riptides: New Island Fiction, Richard Lemm, ed. (Acorn)

Prince Edward Island Book Award (non-fiction)

  • Lionel F. Stevenson: Fifty Years of Photographs/Cinquante ans de photographie (1962“2012), Pan Wendt (Acorn)
  • The Master’s Wife: The Book and the Place, John Flood, ed. (Penumbra Press)
  • Ni’n na L’Nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island, Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston (Acorn)


April 4th, 2014

5:04 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Atlantic Book Awards, Awards