Quill and Quire


« Back to

Alberta Literary Awards announced

Alberta Literary AwardsThe 10 winners of the 2014 Alberta Literary Awards were revealed at a gala in Calgary on June 6, with former Edmonton poet laureate Alice Major being honoured with a lifetime achievement award.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta held the gala event in conjunction with a conference, entitled “After the Flood: Alberta Writers Unite One Year Later,” which was attended by more than 200 writers.

The winners are:

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature
Karen Bass, Graffiti Knight (Pajama Press)

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
Ali Bryan, Roost (Freehand Books)

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Non-fiction
Tyler Trafford, Almost a Great Escape (Goose Lane Editions)

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama
Arun Lakra, Sequence (Playwrights Canada Press)

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry
Paul Zits, Massacre Street (University of Alberta Press)

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award
Trina Moyles, “The Chicken Feather”

James H. Gray Award for Short Non-fiction
Curtis Gillespie, “In the Chair: Clippings From Around the World,” Eighteen Bridges

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story
Jasmina Odor, “His,” Eighteen Bridges

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award
Kim McCullough, “Night/light”

WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement
Alice Major