Quill and Quire


« Back to

2014 Arthur Ellis Award winners announced


Crime Writers of Canada has announced the 2014 Arthur Ellis Award winners. The awards, which were handed out June 5 at a banquet in Toronto, recognize the best writing in the crime genre, including detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller.

The inaugural CWC Grand Master Award for Crime Writing in Canada was presented to Howard Engel for his Benny Cooperman detective series.

The seven category winners are:

Best Novel
Seán Haldane, The Devil’s Making (Stone Flower Press)

Best First Novel
J. Kent Messum, Bait (Penguin Canada)

Best Novella
Melodie Campbell, The Goddaughter’s Revenge (Orca Book Publishers)

Best Short Story
Twist Phelan, “Footprints in Water” (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

Best Book in French
Maureen Martineau, L’enfant promis (La courte échelle)

Best Juvenile/YA
Elizabeth MacLeod, Bones Never Lie (Annick Press)

Best Unpublished First Novel (Unhanged Arthur)
Rachel Greenaway, Cold Girl


June 12th, 2014

2:27 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Arthur Ellis Awards