Quill and Quire


« Back to

Canadian Children’s Literature Award winners announced


The Canadian Children’s Book Centre revealed the winners of the 2014 Canadian Children’s Literature Awards at a gala hosted by the CBC’s Shelagh Rogers in Toronto this evening.

The six English-language prize winners are:

The TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($30,000)
Kathy Stinson; Dušan Petričic, illus., The Man with the Violin (Annick Press)

The Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000)
Julie Morstad, How To (Simply Read Books)

The Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-fiction ($10,000)
Rona Arato, The Last Train: A Holocaust Story (Owlkids Books)

The Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000)
Karen Bass, Graffiti Knight (Pajama Press)

The John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000)
Ted Staunton, Who I’m Not (Orca Book Publishers)

The Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy ($5,000)
Erin Bow, Sorrow’s Knot (Scholastic Canada)

CBC Fan Choice Award ($5,000)
Andrew Larsen; Dušan Petričic, illus., In The Tree House (Kids Can Press)

The centre’s French-language award, the $30,000 Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse, was awarded to Andrée Poulin for La plus grosse poutine du monde (Bayard Canada) in Montreal last week.

CCBC President Daryl Novak also announced a new $5,000 prize, the Amy Mathers Teen Book Award, to be added to the roster for next year’s awards.