Quill and Quire


« Back to

Finalists for inaugural Young Authors Award announced

Ontario Legislative Assembly Speaker Dave Levac has announced the shortlist for the 2014 Young Authors Award, a new addition to the Speaker’s Book Award, which recognizes titles by Ontario authors that are evocative of the province’s history and people.

The award is open to English- or French-language Ontario authors ages 18 to 30 whose work of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or graphica published within the previous two years has “had an impact on the province’s writing scene.”

The shortlist is as follows:

  • Giles Benaway, Ceremonies for the Dead (Kegedonce Press)
  • Daniel Groleau Landry, Réver au réel (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Suzanne Sutherland, When We Were Good (Three O’Clock Press)

The winner will receive a $1,000 prize at the Speaker’s Book Award ceremony at the Ontario Legislature on March 9.