Quill and Quire


« Back to

Winners of the 2015 Manitoba Book Awards announced

Manitoba Writers' GuildThe Manitoba Writers’ Guild and the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers announced the winners of the Manitoba Book Awards on Saturday. The event was held at the Ramada Marlborough Hotel in Winnipeg.

The full list of winners is:

McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award

Joan Thomas, The Opening Sky (McClelland & Stewart)

Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-fiction

Maurice Mierau, Detachment: An Adoption Memoir (Freehand Books)

Beatrice Mosionier Aboriginal Writer of the Year Award

Deborah L. Delaronde

Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award

Jonathan Ball, John Paizs’s Crime Wave (University of Toronto Press)

The Chris Johnson Award for Best Play by a Manitoba Playwright

Rick Chafe, The Secret Mask (Playwrights Canada Press)

Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book

Brenda Sciberras, Magpie Days (Turnstone Press)

John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer

David Alexander Robertson

Lansdowne Prize for Poetry

Ariel Gordon, Stowaways (Palimpsest Press)

Le Prix littéraire Rue-Deschambault

Laurent Poliquin, De l’amuïssement des certitudes (Jacques André éditeur)

Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction

Margaret Sweatman, Mr. Jones (Goose Lane Editions)

Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher

Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk; Bernard Saladin d’Anglure and Peter Frost, trans., Sanaaq: An Inuit Novel  (UMP)


Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards

Design: Anahareo, Devil in Deerskins: My Life with Grey Owl; design by Mike Carroll and Jessica Koroscil (UMP)

Children’s Books/Graphic Novels: GMB Chomichuk; Justin Currie, illus., Cassie and Tonk (Chasing Artwork)

General Illustration: Liane Lanzar and Kevin Complido, Warehouse Journal Volume 23 (University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture)


McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards

Younger: M.J. Matheson, Hokey Dowa Gerda and the Snowflake Girl (Peanut Butter Press)

Older: Eva Wiseman, The World Outside (Tundra Books)