Quill and Quire


« Back to

League of Canadian Poets announces annual award winners

The provocateur: Sina Queyras

Sina Queyras

The League of Canadian Poets announced the winners of its annual Poets Prizes on May 30 at its  LCP Poetry Conference and Festival in Winnipeg.

Patrick Lane was presented the Raymond Souster Award, for best book of poetry by a league member published in the preceding year, for his collection Washita (Harbour Publishing).

Sina Queyras took home the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, for best collection of poetry by a Canadian woman, for her book M x T (Coach House Books).

Kayla Czaga won the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, recognizing the best first book of poetry by a Canadian, for the collection For Your Safety Please Hold On (Nightwood Editions).

And Penn Kemp was awarded the Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award, which honours Canadian spoken-word artists who have made substantial contributions to the field.

The League of Canadian Poets was founded in 1966 to nurture the advancement of poetry across the country. This year marked its 49th annual conference.