Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Writers’ Union of Canada announces Danuta Gleed shortlist

The Writers’ Union of Canada has announced the shortlist for the 2015 Danuta Gleed Literary Award, recognizing the first collection of short fiction by an English-language Canadian author.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000. A second and third prize of $500 will also be awarded. Winners will be announced at the Canadian Writers’ Summit, running from June 15 to 19, at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre.

This year’s shortlist:

  • Gerard Beirne, In a Time of Drought and Hunger (Oberon Press)
  • Andrew Forbes, What You Need (Invisible Publishing)
  • Hugh Graham, Last Words (Exile Editions)
  • Kevin Hardcastle, Debris (Biblioasis)
  • Heather O’Neill, Daydreams of Angels (HarperCollins)


May 10th, 2016

12:09 pm

Category: Awards