Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Greg Hollingshead, Marilyn Dumont, Andrew Nikiforuk among Alberta Literary Awards winners

Greg Hollingshead

Greg Hollingshead

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta honoured eight of the province’s writers at the Alberta Literary Awards on June 4.

From shortlists of 25 finalists in eight categories, culled from more than 200 submissions, the jury selected the following winners:

WGA Golden Pen Award for lifetime achievement

  • Greg Hollingshead

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

  • Bradley Somer, Fishbowl (St. Martin’s Press)

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Non-fiction

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature

  • Kate Boorman, Winterkill (Abrams/Amulet Press)

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Beth Graham, The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble (Playwrights Canada Press)

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short-story

  • Thomas Wharton, “Filters” (FreeFall)

James H. Gray Award for Short Non-fiction

  • Jane Harris, “The Unheard Patient” (Alberta Views)

John Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Elizabeth Withey, “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”