Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Susan Juby wins 2016 Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour

Susan Juby

The Leacock Associates have named Susan Juby the winner of this year’s Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for Republic of Dirt: A Return to Woefield Farm (HarperCollins Canada). The book is a follow-up to the Nanaimo, B.C.–based author’s 2011 novel The Woefield Poultry Collective, which was nominated for the prize in 2012.

Nathan Taylor, president of Leacock Associates, says in a press release:

We have the opportunity to work with many talented authors across the country and choosing a winner is never an easy task. That said, Susan’s latest novel really resonated with the panel and we feel she is so deserving of this award.

Juby’s book was chosen from more than 60 submissions and a shortlist of three titles. She received the $15,000 prize at a June 11 gala dinner at Geneva Park Conference Centre near Orillia, Ontario.