Quill and Quire


« Back to

Nino Ricci, Helen Humphreys, Joe Denham among Canadian Authors Literary Awards finalists

Helen Humphreys

Helen Humphreys

The Canadian Authors Association has released the shortlists for its 2016 Canadian Authors Literary Awards, recognizing Canadian writers who “achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal”:


Canadian History

  • Stephen R. Bown, White Eskimo: Knud Rasmussen’s Fearless Journey into the Heart of the Arctic (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Debra Komar, The Bastard of Fort Stikine: The Hudson’s Bay Company and the Murder of John McLoughlin, Jr. (Goose Lane Editions)
  • Christopher Moore, Three Weeks in Quebec City (Allen Lane)


  • Joe Denham, Regeneration Machine (Nightwood Editions)
  • Raoul Fernandes, Transmitter and Receiver (Nightwood Editions)
  • Nadine McInnis, Delirium for Solo Harp (BuschekBooks)

Emerging Writer Award

  • Kayla Czaga
  • Cassidy McFadzean
  • Eliza Robertson

Fred Kerner Award

  • Melissa Bull, Rue (Anvil Press)
  • Klothild de Baar, Letters to Kathy (APH Publishing)
  • Gail Sidonie Sobat & Spyder Yardley-Jones, Jamie’s Got a Gun (Great Plains Teen Fiction)
  • Cora Taylor, Finding Melissa (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)
  • Caroline Vu, Palawan Story (Deux Voiliers Publishing)

Winners will be announced June 18 at the Canadian Authors Awards luncheon, held in conjunction with the Canadian Writers’ Summit at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre.