Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Sci-fi author Robert J. Sawyer and cartoonist Bruce MacKinnon among new Order of Canada inductees

Robert J. Sawyer (photo: Carolyn Clink)

Robert J. Sawyer (photo: Carolyn Clink)

A number of writers and members of the publishing community were among 113 new Order of Canada recipients announced on June 30 by Governor General David Johnston.

The recognition is awarded twice annually for a lifetime of achievement and service to Canadian culture and community.

Appointments relevant to the book industry include:


  • Ken Armson, forest management advocate and non-fiction author
  • John English, historian, political author, and former politician
  • Jacques Godbout, writer/filmmaker
  • John McGarry, author, journalist, Queen’s University political professor


  • Timothy Borlase, author and arts program specialist
  • Mark Cullen, horticulture writer, journalist, and environmentalist
  • Patricia Demers, author, editor, playwright, and University of Alberta English and film professor
  • Elaine Keillor, music book author/editor and Carleton University music professor
  • Shar Levine, kids science book author and educator
  • Bruce MacKinnon, editorial cartoonist
  • Roger L. Martin, business book author and former dean of the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management
  • Don McKellar, writer, actor, and filmmaker
  • Linda E. McKnight, publisher
  • Shane O’Dea, Memorial University English professor and heritage advocate
  • Robert J. Sawyer, prolific science-fiction author
  • Ilkay Silk, playwright, actor, and director
  • James W. St. G. Walker, University of Waterloo history professor, writer, and Literary Review of Canada contributor


June 30th, 2016

2:29 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Order of Canada