Quill and Quire


« Back to

Sue Goyette, Joan Naviyuk Kane, George Szirtes make up 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize jury

Sue Goyette

Sue Goyette

The judges for the 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize have been announced.

The panel will comprise Halifax poet and 2014 Griffin nominee Sue Goyette; American Inupiaq poet and Institute of American Indian Arts MFA faculty member Joan Naviyuk Kane; and prolific U.K. poet and TS. Eliot Prize winner George Szirtes.

A shortlist of four international and three Canadian authors will be revealed on April 11‚ with nominee readings taking place at Toronto’s Koerner Hall on June 7. One Canadian and one international winner‚ each the recipient of a $65,000 prize‚ will be announced and celebrated at a ceremony in Toronto on June 8.