Quill and Quire


« Back to

Awards: Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize shortlist revealed

Yasuko Thanh (photo: Jennilee Marigomen)

Yasuko Thanh (photo: Jennilee Marigomen)

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has named the finalists for the 20th annual Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize‚ which awards $25,000 to the Canadian author of a novel or short-story collection published the year prior. Each of the shortlisted authors – selected by writers Lauren B. Davis, Trevor Ferguson, and Pasha Malla – will receive a $2,500 prize and will read at Toronto’s International Festival of Authors on Oct. 25. The winner will be announced at a ceremony at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on Nov. 2.

  • Michael Helm‚ After James (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Anosh Irani, The Parcel (Knopf Canada)
  • Kerry Lee Powell, Willem de Kooning’s Paintbrush (HarperAvenue)
  • Yasuko Thanh, Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Katherena Vermette, The Break (House of Anansi Press)