Quill and Quire

Book news

« Back to

Atlantic Book Awards announces shortlists

The shortlists for the Atlantic Book Awards have been announced.

Johanna Skibsrud received nods for her poetry collection I Do Not Think That I Could Love a Human Being and her Scotiabank Giller Prize“winning novel The Sentimentalists, both published by Gaspereau Press. Giller nominee Alexander MacLeod also received two nominations for his story collection Light Lifting, published by Biblioasis. Kate Evans’ Where Old Ghosts Meet (Breakwater Books), Jerry Lockett’s Captain James Cook in Atlantic Canada (Formac Publishing), and Shauntay Grant and Susan Tooke’s The City Speaks in Drums (Nimbus) were also nominated for two awards each.

Winners will be announced on May 19 at the Alderney Gate Library in Dartmouth.

The shortlists in full:

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature
Jan L. Coates, A Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk (Red Deer Press)
Shauntay Grant and Susan Tooke (illus.), The City Speaks in Drums (Nimbus Publishing)
Valerie Sherrard, The Glory Wind (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)

APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award
Elizabeth Peirce, Grow Organic (Nimbus Publishing)
Various authors, Out Loud: Essays on Mental Health Illness, Stigma and Recovery (Breakwater Books)
Kate Evans, Where Old Ghosts Meet (Breakwater Books)

Atlantic Independent Booksellers’ Choice Award
Deborah Carr, Sanctuary (Goose Lane Editions)
Sheree Fitch, Pluto’s Ghost (Doubleday Canada)
Johanna Skibsrud, The Sentimentalists (Gaspereau Press)

Atlantic Poetry Prize
Johanna Skibsrud, I Do Not Think That I Could Love a Human Being (Gaspereau Press)
Douglas Burnet Smith, Learning to Count (Frontenac House)
John Steffler, Lookout (McClelland & Stewart)

Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)
Lesley Choyce, Raising Orion (Thistledown Press)
Sheldon Currie, Two More Solitudes (Key Porter Books)
Anne Emery, Children in the Morning (ECW Press)

Dartmouth Book Award (Non-fiction)
John Boileau, Halifax & the Royal Canadian Navy (Nimbus Publishing)
Daniel Doucet, Élizabeth LeFort: Canada’s Artist in Wool (Cape Breton University Press)
Jerry Lockett, Captain James Cook in Atlantic Canada (Formac Publishing)

Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing
Rusty Bittermann, Sailor’s Hope (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
Josie Penny, So Few on Earth (Dundurn Press)
Jon Tattrie, The Hermit of Africville (Pottersfield Press)

Evelyn Richardson Memorial Literary Prize for Non-fiction
Laura Penny, More Money Than Brains: Why Schools Suck, College is Crap, and Idiots Think They’re Right (McClelland & Stewart)
J. A. Wainwright, Blazing Figures: A Life of Robert Markle (Wilfrid Laurier University Press)
Christopher A. Walsh, Under the Electric Sky (Pottersfield Press)

Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Illustration
Brian Deines, One Hockey Night (Scholastic)
Doretta Groenendyk, Snow for Christmas (Acorn Press)
Susan Tooke, The City Speaks in Drums (Nimbus Publishing)

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award
Kate Evans, Where Old Ghosts Meet (Breakwater Books)
Jerry Lockett, Captain James Cook in Atlantic Canada (Formac Publishing)
Alexander MacLeod, Light Lifting (Biblioasis)

Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award
Alexander MacLeod, Light Lifting (Biblioasis)
Beth Powning, The Sea Captain’s Wife (Knopf Canada)
Kathleen Winter, Annabel (House of Anansi Press)