Quill and Quire


« Back to

Winterset Award finalists announced

The Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council has revealed its shortlist for this year’s BMO Winterset Award. The finalists are:

  • Edward Riche, Easy to Like (House of Anansi Press)
  • Don McKay, The Shell of the Tortoise (Gaspereau Press)
  • Mark Callanan, Gift Horse (Signal Editions)

The jury, which consists of Noreen Golfman, Kevin Major, and Lisa Moore, whittled down the list from 39 entries. The winner will receive $10,000, while runners-up will be awarded $2,500 each.  The three finalists will read from their nominated works at a public reception in St. John’s on March 21. NLAC will announce the winner the following day.

The Winterset Award celebrates writing by authors from Newfoundland and Labrador. Journalist and author Richard Gwyn founded the prize in 2000 to commemorate his late wife, St. John’s“born author Sandra Fraser Gwyn.