Quill and Quire

Book news

« Back to

Awards: BpNichol Chapbook finalists announced

Lillian Necakov

Lillian Necakov

Finalists have been announced for the 2016 bpNichol Chapbook Award, presented annually to the author of the best poetry chapbook of no more than 48 pages published in a given year. The winner of the award receives a $4,000 prize, with an additional $500 going to the book’s publisher. This year’s judges were poets Alice Burdick and Hoa Nguyen. More than 60 books were entered for consideration. The winner of this year’s award will be announced on Nov. 19 at the annual Meet the Presses Indie Literary Market in Toronto.

The bpNichol Chapbook Award was established in 1985 and is named for the late poet, novelist, and micropress publisher bpNichol.

Nelson Ball  Small Waterways (Apt. 9 Press)
Klara du Plessis  Wax Lyrical  (Anstruther Press)
Marilyn Irwin The Blue, Blue There (Apt. 9 Press)
Lillian Necakov The Lake Contains an Emergency Room (Apt. 9 Press)
Christine Stewart  The Odes  (Nomados Literary Publishers)