Quill and Quire


« Back to

Photos: 2017 Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony

The Writers’ Trust of Canada awarded $260,000 to seven Canadian authors at its annual awards gala at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on Nov. 14. Here are a few photos from the evening:

Writers’ Trust Award winners Diane Schoemperlen (Matt Cohen Award for a Writing Life), Sharon Bala (Journey Prize), Billie Livingston (Engel/Findley Award), Louise Bernice Halfe (Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize), Ruby Slipperjack (Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People), David Chariandy (Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize), and James Maskalyk (Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction) (Tom Sandler)


Coteau Books publisher John Agnew, University of Saskatchewan Aboriginal coordinator Val Arnault, and Latner Prize winner Louise Bernice Halfe (Tom Sandler)


Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction winner James Maskalyk at the digital colouring wall (Tom Sandler)


Writers’ Trust chair Douglas Knight, Griffin Prize founder and philanthropist Scott Griffin, author and event emcee Nick Mount (Tom Sandler)


Vicky Metcalf Award winner Ruby Slipperjack with writer/editor Patrick Farrell (Tom Sandler)


Communications executive Tamara Stefek, Journey Prize winner Sharon Bala, and Marlene Stefek (Tom Sandler)


Mark Richardson, Festival of Literary Diversity founder Jael Richardson, and Weston Prize finalist Ivan Coyote (Tom Sandler)


Knopf Random Canada Group publisher and Penguin Random House Canada vice-president Anne Collins with Engel/Findley Award winner Billie Livingston and The Walrus executive editor and creative director Jessica Johnson (Tom Sandler)


Fiction Prize finalist Leanne Betasamosake Simpson and Ryerson associate professor Steve Daniels (Tom Sandler)


Author Karen Connolly, Fiction Prize winner David Chariandy, Journey Prize juror Kevin Hardcastle (Tom Sandler)


Fiction Prize finalist Tanya Talaga and House of Anansi Press senior editor Janie Yoon (Tom Sandler)


Poet Moez Surani, CookeMcDermid agent and partner Martha Webb, Nivin El Rafie, and Fiction Prize finalist Omar El Akkad (Tom Sandler)


Weston Prize winner James Maskalyk and finalist Kyo Maclear (Tom Sandler)


Journey Prize finalist Darlene Naponse (Tom Sandler)