Quill and Quire


« Back to

Marianne Dubuc, Eric Walters, Cybele Young among 2015 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Awards finalists

Any Questions? Mary Louise GayThe Canadian Children’s Book Centre has announced the finalists for its annual literary awards. Authors and illustrators whose books exemplify the best in Canadian children’s literature published the previous year are nominated in eight categories.

The shortlists are as follows:

TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($30,000)

Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000)

  • Roy and Slavia Miki; Julie Flett, illus.; Dolphin SOS (Tradewind Books)
  • Laurel Croza; Matt James, illus.; From There to Here (Groundwood)
  • Eric Walters; Eugenie Fernandes, illus.; Hope Springs (Tundra Books)
  • Christine Baldacchino; Isabelle Malenfant, illus.; Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress (Groundwood)
  • Ashley Spires, The Most Magnificent Thing (Kids Can Press)
  • Cybèle Young, Nancy Knows (Tundra)

Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-fiction ($10,000)

Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000)

  • Patrick Bowman, Arrow Through the Axes: Odyssey of a Slave Book Three (Ronsdale Press)
  • Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Dance of the Banished (Pajama Press)
  • Caroline Pignat, The Gospel Truth (Red Deer Press)
  • Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Underground Soldier (Scholastic Canada)
  • Caroline Pignat, Unspeakable (Razorbill Canada)

John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000)

  • Norah McClintock, About That Night (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Sigmund Brouwer, Dead Man’s Switch (Harvest House Publishers)
  • William Bell, Julian (Doubleday Canada)
  • Cary Fagan, The Show to End All Shows: Master Melville’s Medicine Show Book Two (Puffin Canada)
  • S. J. Laidlaw, The Voice Inside My Head (Tundra)

Monica Hughes Award for Science-fiction and Fantasy ($5,000)

Amy Mathers Teen Book Award ($5,000)

Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeaunesse ($30,000)

  • Marianne Dubuc, L’autobus (Comme des géants)
  • Andrée Poulin; Isabelle Malenfant, illus.; Pablo troube un trésor (Éditions Les 400 coups)
  • Agnès Grimaud, Papillons de l’ombre (Dominique et compagnie)
  • Mireille Levert, Quand j’écris avec mon couer (Éditions de la Bagnole)
  • André Marois; Patrick Doyon, illus.; Le voleur de sandwichs (Éditions de la Pastèque)

The winners will be announced at gala events in Montreal on Nov. 10 (French-language) and Toronto on Nov. 18 (English-language). A ninth award, a fan choice award in partnership with CBC Books and Radio-Canada, will also be presented for one English-language and one French-language title. Readers can vote at CBCBooks.ca from Oct. 1—30.