Quill and Quire


« Back to

Manitoba Book Awards announced

The winners of 12 Manitoba Book Awards were announced at a gala in Winnipeg last evening, with poet Méira Cook winning the $5,000 McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award for her first novel, The House on Sugarbush Road (Great Plains Publications).

Cook won over David Bergen’s The Age of Hope (HarperCollins Canada), which was nominated for three prizes. Bergen took home the two other prizes he was nominated for: the $5,000 Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award and the $3,500 Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction from Manitoba.

Dennis Cooley, the poet and author of more than 15 books, won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The other winners are:

  • Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction: Creation and Transformation: Defining Moments in Inuit Art, by Darlene Coward Wight (Douglas & MacIntyre/Winnipeg Art Gallery)
  • Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher: Thunder Road, by Chadwick Ginther (Ravenstone/Turnstone)
  • McNally Robinson Book for Young People Award, older category: The Green-Eyed Queen of Suicide City, by Kevin Marc Fournier (Great Plains)
  • John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer: Kristian Enright
  • Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry: The Politics of Knives, by Jonathan Ball (Coach House Books)
  • Best Illustrated Book of the Year: Imagining Winnipeg: History through the Photographs of L.B. Foote, by Esyllt Jones, design by Doowah Design (University of Manitoba Press)
  • Manuela Dias Book Design of the Year: Warehouse Journal Vol. 21, edited and designed by Nicole Hunt and Brandon Bergem (U of M Faculty of Architecture)
  • Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book: Sonar, by Kristian Enright (Turnstone Press)
  • Prix Littéraire rue-Deschambault: La Révolution Tranquille, by Raymond Hebert (Les Éditions du Blé)