Quill and Quire


« Back to

CBA Libris Awards announced

Yesterday at the Toronto Congress Centre, Terry Fallis was awarded the Libris Author award, beating out Will Ferguson, Alice Munro, and Nancy Richler.

Alice Munro, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award

Ferguson had his own victory when he took home the fiction prize for his novel 419 (Penguin Canada), and Munro was honoured with a lifetime achievement award.

The CBA Libris Awards are voted on by independent booksellers, recognizing literary achievement and contributions from members of the book industry.

The winners are:

Terry Fallis

419, Will Ferguson (Penguin Canada)

The Inconvenient Indian, Thomas King (Doubleday Canada)

BookLore Stores (Orangeville, ON)

Specialty Bookseller
Mabel’s Fables (Toronto, ON)

Campus Bookseller
University of Toronto Bookstore (Toronto, ON)

Young Reader
Such Wicked Intent, Kenneth Oppel (HarperCollins Canada)

Iris Tupholme, HarperCollins Canada

Sales Rep
Morgen Young, Ampersand

Picture Books
This Is Not My Hat, Jon Klassen (Candlewick Press)

Penguin Canada

Small Press
Cormorant Books

Random House of Canada

CBA’s Libris Lifetime Achievement Award
Alice Munro and Jack Rabinovitch

Young Bookseller of  the Year
Michael Bumstead, Whodunit? Mystery Bookstore (Winnipeg, MB)