Quill and Quire


« Back to

Pandora’s Collective winners announced

Joy Kogawa

Vancouver-based Pandora’s Collective has announced the winners of its annual awards, highlighting the achievements of writers, organizers, mentors, and other literati in Vancouver.

Joy Kogawa won the Distinctive Body of Work Award. Kogawa is best known for her semi-autobiographical 1981 novel Obasan, and the author of a dozen other books.

Spoken word poet Chris Gilpin won the Organizer/Promoter Award. Gilpin is the 2012 Nerd Slam and Erotica Slam poetry champion, as well as an organizer with the WordPlay Poetry-in-Schools program.

The BC Writer Mentor award went to Jen Currin, the author of three poetry collections and a writing teacher at Vancouver Community College, Kwantlen University and The Writer’s Studio at Simon Fraser University.

The Citizenship Award went to Ariadne Sawyer, the president of the World Poetry Reading Series Society.

Vancouver press New Star Books won the Publisher’s Award.

The literary arts magazine Ricepaper won the Magazine Award.

The awards will be presented at a gala event at the Summer Dreams Literary Arts Festival on Aug. 23.