Quill and Quire


« Back to

Weston Prize jury announced

The Honorable Hilary Weston (third from left) with 2012 prizewinner Candace Savage and finalists JJ Lee, Taras Grescoe, Modris Eksteins, and Kamal Al-Solaylee     (Photo: Tom Sandler)

The jury has been announced for the 2013 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction, the richest annual literary award for non-fiction in Canada.

This year’s jury comprises Hal Niedzviecki, Candace Savage, and Andreas Schroeder.

Niedzviecki, a co-founder of the literary magazine Broken Pencil, has published several works of fiction and nonfiction, including The Peep Diaries (City Lights), which was adapted into a documentary in 2011.

Savage won the prize last year for A Geography of Blood: Unearthing Memory from a Prairie Landscape (Greystone Books), and is the author of more than two dozen books.

A creative writing teacher at the University of British Columbia, Schroeder holds the university’s Rogers Communications Chair in creative non-fiction.

The finalists will be announced at a press conference Sept. 18, with the winner revealed at the Art Gallery of Ontario on Oct. 21.