Quill and Quire


« Back to

Strong Canadian showing on Man Booker longlist

Three female writers with strong ties to Canada have been longlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize. The literary prize is awarded annually for the best original full-length novel, written in English, by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe. The prize is worth £60,000 ($93,230 Cdn).

The Luminaries (forthcoming from McClelland & Stewart) is the second novel from Canadian“born, New Zealand“raised Eleanor Catton, whose debut novel, The Rehearsal, won the 2011 Amazon.ca First Novel Award. According to M&S’s website, the young author’s latest novel is a “murder mystery set in a remote gold-mining frontier town in nineteenth-century New Zealand, in which three unsolved crimes link the fates and fortunes of twelve men.”

Ruth Ozeki, nominated for A Tale for the Time Being (Viking Canada), splits her time between New York City and British Columbia. Ozeki’s website describes the novel as a “powerful story about the ways in which reading and writing connect two people who will never meet.”

Alison MacLeod’s novel, Unexploded (forthcoming from Hamish Hamilton Canada), is about a family living in Brighton under the shadow of the Second World War. MacLeod was born in Canada but has lived in England since 1987. She has published two novels: The Changeling in 1996, and The Wave Theory of Angels in 2005.

The other longlisted nominees are:

  • Five Star Billionaire, Tash Aw
  • We Need New Names, NoViolet Bulawayo
  • Harvest, Jim Crace
  • The Marrying of Chani Kaufman, Eve Harris
  • The Kill, Richard House
  • The Lowland, Jhumpa Lahiri
  • TransAtlantic, Colum McCann
  • Almost English, Charlotte Mendelson
  • The Spinning Heart, Donal Ryan
  • The Testament of Mary, Colm Tóibín

The Booker Prize jury is made up of broadcaster Martha Kearney, academic Robert Douglas-Fairhurst, broadcaster Natalie Haynes, and essayist and former literary editor Stuart Kelly. The shortlist will be announced Sept. 10 and the winner will be announced Oct. 15.


July 23rd, 2013

1:29 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Awards, Man Booker Prize