Quill and Quire


« Back to

Richard Wagamese wins Burt Award for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Literature

The winners of CODE’s inaugural Burt Award for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Literature were announced last night at a gala in Ottawa.

Hosts Shelagh Rogers and Waubgeshig Rice presented the first prize of $12,000 to Richard Wagamese for his novel Indian Horse (Douglas & McIntyre). Tara Lee Morin won the $8,000 second prize for As I Remember It (Theytus Books) and James Bartleman won the $5,000 third prize for As Long as the Rivers Flow (Vintage Canada).

The winners were selectedby an anonymous jury appointed by the Canada Council for the Arts. In addition to the prize money, each author will see a minimum of 2,500 copies of their book purchased by CODE and distributed throughout First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities.

From the press release:

I want to congratulate the winners and everyone who submitted works for the first edition of the Canadian Award, said William (Bill) Burt, who financially supports the initiative. It’s my hope that First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth will enjoy them, get inspired to keep learning, and develop a life-long love of reading.

The deadline for submissions for next year’s award is May 1.