Quill and Quire


« Back to

Cundill Historical Literary Prize finalists announced

McGill University’s Faculty of Arts has announced the finalists for the sixth annual Cundill Prize in Historical Literature.

The winner will be awarded $75,000 U.S. (the largest international prize for non-fiction writing), with each runner-up receiving a “Recognition of Excellence” award of $10,000.

The finalists are:

  • Anne Applebaum, Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe 1944-1956 (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Christopher Clark, The Sleepwalkers: How Europe Went to War in 1914 (HarperCollins)
  • Fredrik Logevall, Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America’s Vietnam (Random House)

This year’s jury is composed of Brown-Forman Corporation executive vice-president Garvin Brown; Queen’s-Blyth Education Program executive director Anthony Cary; University of Turin modern history professor (and 2011 Cundill Prize winner) Sergio Luzzatto; University of Massachusetts professor and public history program director Marla R. Miller; and Trent University founding president and professor emeritus Thomas H.B. Symons. The finalists were selected from a shortlist, culled from 116 international historical non-fiction titles published in or translated into English.

The winner will be revealed at an awards ceremony on Nov. 20 in Toronto.