Quill and Quire


« Back to

McGill-Queen’s art books dominate Melva J. Dwyer Award shortlist

Four McGill-Queen’s University Press titles have been nominated for the Melva J. Dwyer Award, which honours reference materials relating to Canadian art and architecture.

Also of note is the inclusion of Canadian Online Art Books, a new digital venture launched in November by the Art Canada Institute, a non-profit organization based out of the University of Toronto’s Massey College, and David Stouck’s Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life, which is also nominated for the RBC Taylor Prize.

The 11 nominees are as follows:

  • Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life, David Stouck (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Artists, Architects & Artisans: Canadian Art 1890″“1918, Charles Hill, Andrea Kunard, Laurier Lacroix, Geoffrey Simmins, Rosiland Pepall, Christine Boyanoski, and Bruce Russell (National Gallery of Canada)
  • Canadian Online Art Books, Art Canada Institute
  • First Peoples of Canada: Masterworks from the Canadian Museum of Civilization, Jean-Luc Pilon and Nicholette Prince (University of Toronto Press)
  • John C. Parkin, Archives, and Photography, Linda Fraser, Michael McMordie, and Geoffrey Simmins, eds. (University of Calgary Press)
  • Marion Nicoll: Silence and Alchemy, Ann Davis, Elizabeth Herbert, Jennifer Salahub, and Christine Sowiak, eds. (University of Calgary Press)
  • Native Art of the Northwest Coast: A History of Changing Ideas, Charlotte Townsend-Gault, Jennifer Kramer, and Ki-ke-in, eds. (University of British Columbia Press)
  • The Official Picture: The National Film Board of Canada’s Still Photography Division and the Image of Canada, 1941″“1971, Carol Payne (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • On Architecture: Melvin Charney, a Critical Anthology, Melvin Charney; Louis Martin, ed. (MQUP)
  • Paul-Émile Borduas: A Critical Biography, François-Marc Gagnon; Peter Feldstein, trans. (MQUP)
  • The Video Art of Sylvia Safdie, Eric Lewis (MQUP)

The winner, selected by a jury of three Canadian art professionals, will be announced in May at the ARLIS/NA Conference in Washington, D.C.