Quill and Quire


« Back to

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for political writing shortlist announced

Graeme Smith

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has released the shortlist for the 14th Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing.

Former Globe and Mail foreign correspondent Graeme Smith is up for yet another honour. His memoir, The Dogs Are Eating Them Now: Our War in Afghanistan, has already received the 2013 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Non-fiction and is nominated for this year’s RBC Taylor Prize.

Smith’s fellow Taylor Prize nominee, celebrated historian and Oxford University professor Margaret MacMillan, is also up for the award for The War that Ended Peace: The Road to 1914 (Allen Lane Canada).

Calgary Herald editorial page editor Licia Corbella, journalist Jane O’Hara, and Globe and Mail international affairs columnist Doug Saunders selected the five-title shortlist.

The finalists are:

The winner of the $25,000 prize will be announced April 2 at the Writers’ Trust Politics and the Pen gala in Ottawa. Each nominee receives $2,500.