Quill and Quire


« Back to

Writers’ Trust announces Bronwen Wallace Award finalists

Writers Trust logoThe Writers’ Trust of Canada has revealed the finalists for this year’s RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers.

The award, which is presented to writers under the age of 35 who are unpublished in book form, alternates each year between poetry and short fiction. This year’s short-story finalists are Montreal playwright Leah Jane Esau, Victoria Conservatory of Music faculty member and pianist Erin Frances Fisher, and Montreal/Toronto freelance writer Jakub Stachurski.

To select the shortlist, jurists Michelle Berry, Diane Schoemperlen, and Tanis Rideout read 133 blind submissions from across Canada. Each juror has also committed to mentoring one of the finalists.

The winner, who receives $5,000, will be announced May 27 at an event at Toronto’s Royal Conservatory of Music hosted by Michael Crummey, the inaugural winner of the Bronwen Wallace Award.


April 30th, 2014

3:18 pm

Category: Awards

Tagged with: Bronwen Wallace Award