Quill and Quire


« Back to

Danuta Gleed Literary Award finalists announced

TWUC logoThe Writers’ Union of Canada has announced the finalists for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award, an annual prize that recognizes the best debut English-language collection for short fiction by a Canadian author. The winner, who receives $10,000, will be announced at TWUC’s OnWords Conference on May 31.

The finalists are:

  • Théodora Armstrong, Clear Skies, No Wind, 100% Visibility (House of Anansi)
  • Lisa Bird-Wilson, Just Pretending (Coteau Books)
  • Astrid Blodgett, You Haven’t Changed a Bit (University of Alberta Press)
  • Paul Carlucci, The Secret Life of Fission (Oberon Press)
  • Eufemia Fantetti, A Recipe for Disaster & Other Unlikely Tales of Love (Mother Tongue Publishing)

A jury comprising authors Candas Jane Dorsey, Russell Wangersky, and Ian Williams selected the five collections from 28 submissions.