Quill and Quire


« Back to

Writers’ Trust reveals Weston Prize shortlist

Writers Trust logoThe five finalists for the 2014 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for non-fiction were announced this morning at a press conference in Toronto.

The $60,000 award, the richest prize for Canadian non-fiction, garnered 92 submissions from 42 publishers this year. The shortlist was selected by a jury comprising 2011 Weston Prize winner Charles Foran, 2010 finalist Merrily Weisbord, and 2013 finalist Priscila Uppal.

Renowned CBC journalist Peter Mansbridge and award-winning Canadian director and screenwriter Deepa Mehta will join the jury for the final deliberation next month.

The shortlist is as follows:

Each shortlisted author will receive $5,000. The winner will be announced Oct. 14 at a gala to be held at the Art Gallery of Ontario.