Quill and Quire


« Back to

Sean Michaels among Quebec Writers’ Federation Award winners

SweetAffliction-CoverWebThe Quebec Writers’ Federation announced the winners of its 16th annual literary awards at a gala at Montreal’s Corona Theatre Tuesday night. The awards intend to honour the best English-language writers from Quebec with a prize of $2,000 in each category.

The winners are:

Concordia University First Book Prize
Anna Leventhal for Sweet Affliction (Invisible Publishing)

QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature
Monique Polak for Hate Mail (Orca Book Publishers)

Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction
Sean Michaels for Us Conductors (Random House Canada)

Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction
Chantal Hébert and Jean Lappiere for The Morning After: The 1995 Quebec Referendum and the Day That Almost Was (Knopf Canada)

A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry
Sins Queyras for MxT (Coach House Books)

The gala also recognized author Didier Leclair and translators Elaine Kennedy and Sheryl Curtis with the 3Macs Carte Blanche Prize for the story “It’s Late, Doctor Schweitzer,” and Elizabeth Macdonnell with the Judy Mappin Community Award.

The winners of this year’s Quebec Writing Competition were also announced, with first prize going to Allegra McKenzie for “The Glass Man,” second prize to James Dunnigan for “Open Bay,” and the Reader’s Choice Award to Josée Lafrenière for “Breath.”